Soulmate…


Copyright © 1993 by Darlene Purcell  All rights reserved

 

 

 

So many nights even as child …

I sat in a window seat in the dark …

star gazing and sometimes I whispered to you...
 
Where are you?
Can you feel me too? 
Do you miss me? 
I miss you ...
 
Life is so empty without you...
 
I was always lonely ...
even in the crowd ...
longing for you to be there to share 
with me ....
 
But you never showed up ...
 
For so many years ...
I searched for you in every face and I found little pieces 
of you...
 
That proud straight nose and gorgeous curly hair...
Your deep soulful eyes....
and  that wistful half smile ...
 
I knew the sound of your laughter ...
that inflection in your voice and how we 
would flirt outrageously with each other...
 
How passionate we would be in each other arms...
that the first thousand kisses from your lips...
would make me cry ...
cause I waited so long ...
to finally taste you ...
 
I knew how big your hand would be...
and strong holding mine ...
the way you would grin...
when I confused you...
 
The taste of your tears...
when something I said touched you...
and you nuzzled my cheek to your cheek...
hugging me tight ...
 
I knew you were mechanically inclined
and creative like me...
 
I wanted you to go with me to the all the places I dreamed of...
but I hoped you might drag me there first ...ha... ha...
 
I needed you ... 
to need me ... 
as much as I needed you ...
 
To Want me... 
as much as I... 
Want you ...
 
I never doubted you would love me...
as deeply as I love you...
 
I knew we would balance each others strengths and weakness...
 
I knew you would be my match in all ways
and that you would be stronger that me...
so I could lean on you...
but at times I'd have to 
run around to the other side and prop you up ...
 
And I knew you wouldn't mind ...
being that vulnerable with me...
Just me ...
Cause we would trust each other
and be safe Together...
 
We were made for each other arms ...
Only God could pry us loose...
from the moment we would meet ...
 
I knew we would instantly connect ...
and we would fall in love ...
 
If the arrow pierced your heart...
in just right moment ...
 
and you...
felt me...
too...
Leave a Reply

